Hurricane Sandy, It’s Not Over – Ways That Everyone Can Help

Standard

Hurricane Sandy arrived in New Jersey last Monday night (October, 29th, 2012).  Some doubted the strength this storm, while others feared what they had been hearing on the news in the days preceding its arrival.  I fell somewhere in between.  I didn’t doubt it’s strength, yet I did not know how destructive it might be.

Want to know something?  …I think we were all wrong.

As I sat in the living room, with no power as of 5pm, 10/29/12, my family and I watched bluish-green waves of illumination as explosions lit up the threatening sky’s above.  These weren’t lightening strikes, but rather transformers and electrical explosions happening in surrounding towns.  We think we even know when the Con Edison disaster occurred, judging by the length of the flash of light (which was not a flash, but more like a 30 second, 4th of July, grand finale).  See the video below in case you haven’t viewed it yet.

Well, many of us have power, heat, and internet again, but Sandy is far from over.  Many of you who are able to read this have not have been affected by the storm to the extent that others have.  Those who have been greatly impacted do not have power to run a computer, in fact, they may not even have a home.  Wherever you are right now, be thankful you are safe.

It is easy to slowly lose mind of what happened one week ago as we all get “back on track” with work, school, family, election day, shopping, holidays, etc.  That doesn’t mean Sandy is over, nor does it mean that everyone is able to get “back on track.”  Staten Island, Long Island, West Virginia, Boroughs of New York, New Jersey, and many other parts of the East Coast have been destroyed.  I don’t say this lightly when I say destroyed …

I don’t think anyone could have predicted what would happen, and how it would happen (click the links below to gain a better understanding of this).

The unpredictable aftermath:

The Weather Channels Summary of Sandy

This is what having no power looked like several days after the storm:

Raging Fire Outbreak in Breezy Island

What having no power looks like:

Just Days After the Storm ..No Power, Long Gas Lines, What Else?

Today, Wednesday, November 7th, 2012, we prepare for yet another snow storm.  Currently, there is 3 inches of snow outside where I live, and the snow may continue for another 6 hours.  The areas that were dramatically affected by Hurricane Sandy are also now possibly becoming snow covered, flooded, and may be suffering from wind gusts up to 60 miles per hour.

Since I have been sick for one of the longest durations in my life, I haven’t been able to lend my support physically in the clean up of Sandy.  I’m experiencing more and more days in which I feel energized compared to a few weeks ago, but I am still not my self.  I experience days where it is difficult to go downstairs for water because I feel so weak.  But this week I am reaching out to those I will see and asking for donation items needed for hurricane relief that can be sent with me to specific sites.  We’ve got to do what we can right now.

One reason for helping is because I believe we all come from one Source.  I believe that we are all connected to one another; that there is a little piece of everyone’s characteristics within one another.  We may choose which characteristics to express, but they are all there.  I believe we are all from one living, breathing, consciousness.  With this idea in place, I believe that any disaster affects us all on some level, even the subliminal or subconscious (an unexplained level).  The best I can do right now is to help my fellow friends, family, peers, acquaintances, and students, help others.  In one sense I am not really doing much at all, I am merely helping others to take part in something I know many want to, but may not know how to.  I’ve seen this same sort of idea taken on by many others who are reaching out and gathering goods which can be donated.

Below is a list of something everyone can do to help those affected by Hurricane Sandy:

  • Let others know that money is not the only type of help we need right now, many items you have in your house at this very moment can help save lives and facilitate clean-up efforts.
  1. Heavy-duty trash bags
  2. Workers gloves
  3. Surgical gloves
  4. Winter gloves
  5. Sweaters
  6. Coats
  7. Blankets
  8. Baby wipes
  9. Baby diapers
  10. Bottled water (in certain areas)
  11. Other clothing and clean-up items, nothing will go to waste.
  • Money is also helpful and can be donated via text message or online
  • Find someone who is bringing donations to an area in need and send what you can with them.
  • Plan to bring donation items to an area in need, and ask others if they have anything they can send with you.
  • Reach out to friends and family who may be affected, they may need a place to say, a hot meal to eat, or a warm shower, don’t assume they will ask you.
  • No donation is too little, even one old sweater will find its way onto the back of someone else.
  • If you practice Reiki, yoga, meditation or some other spiritual study, send thoughts of loving kindness to our planet, and the people affected by Hurricane Sandy through visualization.
  • If you’d like to pray, do so often.  Our thoughts become reality.  Try not to focus on the destruction that exists, but instead visualize a rebirth of the place affected.  Imagine it in complete harmony, rebuilt and better than ever.

This is what happened 9 days ago from Hurricane Sandy:

Subways ruined …

Homes disappear …

But this is what’s going on right now:

cleaning up …

and this …

getting ready to rebuild …

and this …

donating support and items …

and this …

staying strong and using what we do have …

Let’s focus on what we can do right now instead of reminiscing on what happened 9 days ago.

Efforts to help rebuild many parts of the East Coast will be required during the months aheadLet’s do our best to keep these efforts up beyond a few weeksWhen we are warm at home, embrace what you have, and spend 2 minutes visualizing the same comforts entering into the lives of those who are less fortunate.  You can become apart of an incredibly big movement no matter where you or what you have to give.  I hope you are all safe, warm, and smiling inside.  Sending love through our universe …Om Shantih.
-DC

Photos found @ http://www.nytimes.com, http://www.wavesforwater.org/project/hurricane-sandy-relief-initiative, http://photos.silive.com/advance/2012/11/volunteers_help_staten_island_18.html

2 responses »

  1. Hi Sara,

    I miss you! Can not believe how “mind over matter” saw you through your marathon. To think of what one is capable of when so determined. I remember when my daughter misses 6 weeks if school in 9 th grade because she had Parvo Virus ( arthritis in every joint of your body) and how she was still focused on her studies because that year counted for college. One teacher sent home a test for her to take. Ali asked if she could type her answers because she could not grip a pencil. The answer was NO. She took forever but wrote out the essay answers. Was wiped out after. She did it! I feel for you. But I know you are wise enough to use this time to to take care of you and forge a different path of thinking. I enjoy your posts and am glad you and your family are safe. Amie PS we have no power but finally found a hotel room!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Hello Hello Amie! So great to hear from you. I miss you too, very much. I am doing my best to resume teaching this Sunday again, will let you know if I am.

      Your kids are so strong …I know this by all of the stories you’ve shared. That’s sad and cruel of her teacher to not allow her to type her essay, but fortunately, we don’t have to worry about someone else’s cruel actions, what they project is what they attract, it’s sad actually.

      The electrical situation is a real problem for many people. I worry now because it’s getting colder and colder. I’m glad to hear you have a warm hotel to stay in at least. Hopefully things will be up and running quickly, I am lucky to have power.

      Please don’t feel bad! It’s my bodies way of forcing me to slow down, I try to listen to these messages carefully, even though it’s incredibly mind boggling when you’re an active person. One thing I do know, is that there are many others in our own state alone that have it much worse than I do. I’ll be fine, but it’s the rest of the East Coast I’m concerned about.

      Keep in touch, I look forward to seeing you soon. Hope your yoga classes have been helping you through these tough times!

      Much love.

Leave a Reply

